Aqsa Parvez, I’m sorry I couldn’t be there for you.

Now this is what I mean. When I say things like – “AUTRELLE F***ING HOLLAND. The one running TOWARDS you.” This is the type of thing that simply has to STOP. Period. This sort of behavior is not rooted in holding fast to a spiritual conviction in an extreme fashion. It’s rooted in irrationality, at its most extreme. My stomach is literally knotted after reading about this. I don’t have the words right now to express how enraged, disgusted, hurt, – I don’t even know how to finish this sentence.

I have to try harder. When things like this happen, that’s when I wish for the impossible, that’s when I wish I could be everywhere at once, to prevent things like this. Look at the picture of her. She’s on Facebook. She’s a person. Just like me. Just like you. Cut down by someone’s nightmarish idea of “religion.”

Aqsa Parvez

6 Responses to Aqsa Parvez, I’m sorry I couldn’t be there for you.

  1. mike nichols says:

    I studied Islam for about 7 years and I don’t recall reading in the Qur’an anything about killing your daughter over her clothing. That type of behavior would most surely be ZENUH(sic), which means absolute sin because you tried to do a work of Allah. Traditions are why I chose to leave all “Religions” alone and practice strioctly haveing FAITH in GOD. In the END only YOU, NOT your religion are going to be judged by GOD!

  2. becca says:

    Words like terrible and tragic don’t even begin to describe this. Why are we moving backwards instead of forward?

  3. autrelle says:

    Mike, the sad thing is, this isn’t even a religious issue. Religion is something I’m entirely against, for reasons I may discuss at another time, but this is an issue of irrationality, ignorance, and CULTURE. This is not a man that thinks for himself. This is a man that accepts without thinking. On that thought, and thinking about Rebecca’s question (which is a profound question), it seems to me that there is this world of people that do not think, that accept, and for whatever reason, they WILL NOT THINK, and clamor for whatever their culture provides. For some reason, what they are given is a doctrine of cannibalism, sacrifice of self to others, sacrifice of others to self (or “God” or “the public good” or what have you), and suffering.

    Paraphrasing Confucius, when asked about the proper way to pay respect to the spirits: You don’t know how to even treat your fellow men and women, how can you begin to think that you can talk about serving spirits?

    Really, let’s start having Objectivist meetings and classes.

  4. babylonbondfire says:

    I am at a loss for words! It makes no sense, to want to protect ones eternal soul and then turn around and harm them on a physical level, I mean if the soul was in trouble why end all chances of turning it around? why? why?why? Normal parents ground thier children, take away priviledges and things like that, not thier lives! As a parent this deeply hurts and is most disturbing, and all the words I we could express unfortunetly wont bring that beautiful girl back. DAMNIT!!!

  5. Kensey says:

    This is terrible, to say the very least. However, it is a comfort to know that we still have people such as yourself in this world. You are helping and touching many lives everyday.

    Again, though, the story is very disturbing and upsetting. What a tragedy… I really have no words.

  6. autrelle says:

    KNZ,
    When I got the notification of a comment on this, I almost didn’t read it. This is an especially difficult entry for me to come back to, period. I appreciate your words though.

Leave a Reply

