Want to destroy The World? Keep your thoughts to yourself.

One of the things that I try to be very aware of is what I encourage, as well as I what I discourage. Both actions can be done directly by speech and action, and both can be done indirectly, by what is not said and by actions not taken. When I talk to people about things that they believe in, and how those things fit in with their everyday lives, I like to get into the area of discussion I like to call The Danger of Being Neutral.

The Danger of Being Neutral simply states that if you can realize that something is right, and not wrong, then you should follow that course. It states that since you know the difference between right and wrong, that anything even a little bit wrong can never be right. That means that you can never compromise with something that is wrong. A compromise between right and wrong only encourages what is wrong by making allowances for it, and discourages what is good by not supporting it fully.

For example, a person can’t cheat on their spouse a little bit. A person can’t steal a little bit. A person can’t kill people a little bit. There’s no such thing as being a little bit raped. The average person understands this. But all too often, I see people make exception, either for their own sake, the sake of someone else, or even worse, just for the sake of argument or discussion. It’s funny, how all of a sudden, it can be okay to cheat, lie, steal, rape, murder, because, you know, everything is not black and white. Or maybe what’s okay for one person may not be okay for another.

Here’s what my simple solutions are:

  • If you don’t know what the difference between good and evil (white and black as they try to call it), go learn it. Even if you don’t care about such things, in your life, you will not be able to escape the consequences of the actions of good and evil people.
  • Now, reflect deeply and stop kidding yourself. Find out what your passions and convictions are. Determine where you stand, and then stand your ground. If you find some sort of contradiction, examine your premises (my favorite line from Atlas Shrugged) and then resolve them. You’re going to need a strong sense of self in order to…
  • Speak out when you see something that you think is wrong. You pretty much have to do it. The beautiful thing about being rational is that you don’t have to disrespect someone in order to disagree with them. What usually works best is saying “I disagree.” Remember that if you remain silent, you imply consent. If you say or do nothing about something that you believe to be wrong, you encourage the wrong act, and discourage the right act at the same time.

This is what I call The Danger of Being Neutral. Ayn Rand called it The Cult Of Moral Grayness. It means you have to take a stand. Stop being that neutral person, because your neutrality will not help anyone. People can talk about being “neutral” or “keeping their thoughts to themselves” but the problem is, they can’t live that way. They won’t. I promise you that if someone were trying to defraud you, defame you, rape you, kill you, and some bystander was there that could help, you would understand in a second what I’m talking about here: The Danger of Being Neutral.

For more on this, read Ayn Rand, The Virtue of Selfishness, Chapter 9: The Cult of Moral Grayness.

18 Responses to Want to destroy The World? Keep your thoughts to yourself.

  1. autrelle says:

    Glad you agree. As an Objectivist yourself, I would love your input. Ciao.

  2. Clarence says:

    Evasion- that’s what the cult of moral greyness feeds on alright.
    I’m constantly suprized at the lack of attention to causality and etiology behind “so called leaders and opinion makers pronouncements.” For my part I can share a story about what lead to my failure to be a good 2nd hander at an early age.
    My Roman Catholic parents decided in that it would be good for my character as a young male- (their only son) to become an aprentice Altar Boy. This goes back to a time when there were (of course) no Altar Girls- in the sence of serving the alcohol swilling male priests of this most chauvenistic religion. That was strike one.
    During the orientation for such young aprentices we eventually arrived at the question and answer section of the program. Because I have always failed to be a “glib learner”, I was keen on finding out the meaning behind all of that Latin Rhetorical bantor between the priest and the altar boys. I sealed my fate among the little everymen of Amityville New York by asking in a somewhat distressed tone “but what does it all mean?”
    The alter boy’s role model in a most tolerant and yet exasperated voice advised me “don’t worry about what it means, just memorize it!” I felt like I’d fallen off of an unbalanced Ferris wheel. I’d been handed my first commercial grade package deal.
    Cla

  3. ashish. says:

    yes i have a special material (ox …. b……)for distroyed this world but i will not do this because i m very good boy (like a god)hee haa haaa haaa haaaaaa,yaaaa i have a poooooooooooooooooowerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

    note..

    its not a joke

  4. I read this and I still want to destroy the world. Actually I want to seek out new life and new civilizations and destroy them all. I want a Universe of sterile planets with me alone in my space ship in silence waiting for the next life form to evolve from the cosmic soup so I can destroy that as well. I want to use perhaps a black hole and another huge star or gas cloud that I can throw into the black hole and create a massive sterilizing gamma beam that I can then use to hose down the collective life in the universe.

    Yesterday I caught some kittens and put them in the blender, then used this to paint my wall. It didn’t help the anger much but it did provide a nicer red tint to my living room.

    Is there something wrong with me?

  5. Joshua says:

    I feel the only thing wrong is that nothing should be left behind. total eradication of all existence should be… or shouldn’t be I suppose. I say an experiment should be conducted, destroy all 5 senses and analyze how you feel. disable all your sensory organs and decide what your consciousness makes of it’s existence. with all the distractions removed I believe one can obtain true peace of mind.

  6. someone says:

    So someone who isnt neutral will not cause wars or something only ”good” and ”evil people will cause wars because they think that they are the ”good” ones ” .So what is evil and good ? i dont think that there is a specific thing to call it and a rapist thinks rape is good but the one who got raped thinks its evil people who are neutral can see it from both the sites they are not blinded by the thoughts of what is good and evil. Sorry for my bad english.

  7. Mystikan says:

    Absolutism is actually the gravest threat civilisation faces today, and this article is a perfect example. Of course there are degrees of wrong and right. Stealing a loaf of bread to feed your starving kids is completely different to stealing millions of dollars in pensioners’ life savings to live a luxurious lifestyle in the Bahamas. Both acts are still stealing, but by your logic, the man who steals to feed his family should be punished in the same degree as the life-savings-stealing conman. Your logic does not allow for motive or intention, only the action. THAT, to me, is wrong.

    There’s a line from Star Trek TNG that deals with your kind of moral absolutism precisely: on a world where the only penalty for any crime is death, Captain Picard saves Wesley Crusher by demonstrating that “there can be no justice where the laws are absolute.”

    People like you terrify me. It is precisely this kind of absolutism that has eroded our civil liberties, polarised our civilisation, overwhelmed reason and common sense with political correctness, and created inustices that would have our forefathers who fought for our freedom weeping in their graves. Each act must be decided on its own merits and carry its own consequences, and motives and intentions must, if there is to be any justice at all, be considered as part of those consequences.

  8. Thanks for finally talking about >Want to destroy The World?
    Keep your thoughts to yourself. « SHOSHINSHA <Loved it!

  9. servicii seo says:

    Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog.
    Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about setting
    up my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Thank you

  10. Excellent article. Keep posting such kind of info on your site.
    Im really impressed by it.
    Hi there, You’ve performed an excellent job. I’ll definitely digg it and in my opinion recommend to my friends.
    I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

  11. When someone writes an paragraph he/she retains the thought of a user in his/her mind
    that how a user can know it. Thus that’s why this piece of writing is perfect. Thanks!

  12. Amazing! Its truly remarkable post, I have got much
    clear idea on the topic of from this paragraph.

  13. Jannie says:

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before but
    after going through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and
    I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

  14. Valsotevs says:

    go hide somewhere f**king cheater

Leave a Reply

