From Youtube, to iMovie, to your iPod

If you know me at all, you know that I love my media: books, video, audio, you name it.  So for all of you OS X folks out there, I thought I would share some of my tricks of the trade.  Youtube has become my place to go for video and music that isn’t available anywhere else.  You’ll find rare, unreleased, live versions of any artist you can think of.  Using TubeTv, I can download these videos and convert them to a suitable OS X friendly format.  I can then simply play the video in either Quicktime, iTunes, or my favorite, VLC.

I don’t stop there.  I have been compiling the videos and converting them into DVD compilations.  I don’t stop there either.  I use iMovie to extract the audio, and export the audio to a .aiff file.  Then I import the file into iTunes, and convert it to .mp3 format.

I am the happiest camper.  I’ll be happiest-er (er?) when I can teach myself to do the same thing in linux.  I’m posting a video of “On” by Bloc Party.  This is a song that they rarely perform live, and it’s arguably one of the best tracks on their latest album A Weekend In The City.  This version is called “Wet.”  In the Box.net widget on the sidebar, I have uploaded the extracted .mp3.  Enjoy yourselves.

TubeTv

iLife

3 Responses to From Youtube, to iMovie, to your iPod

  1. Pingback: Youtube » From Youtube, to iMovie, to your iPod

  2. Branden says:

    Very cool Autrelle. I’m all over this one.

  3. autrelle says:

    I thought you would dig that – ah…

Leave a Reply

