31 Kumijo, complete description

I found this image on the internet.  I can’t remember where, but as soon as I relocate it, I will credit the source.  It is supposed to be Saito Sensei’s very own list of the techniques of Aikiken and Aikijo.  I will detail the 31 Kumijo in accord to these notes.  Where “standard” vocabulary is not available, I will substitute my own.  I will use the term “uchi” to refer the “other person” and “uke” to refer to the person doing the 31 Jo form.  Since I have already provided an illustrated version of 1-22, I will only illustrate steps 22-31 (coming soon!!!).  Parts of the Kumi that are from the Kata will be in bold.

1-6

1.    Uchi: Hidari tsuki no kamae
Uke: Hidari jo no kamae
Uchi: Hidari choku tsuki
Uke: Hidari kaeshi tsuki
Uchi: Hidari choku barai

2.    Uchi: Hidari choku tsuki
Uke:  Hidari jodan Dome Barai

3.    Uke: Jodan dome maki otoshi, followed immediately by hidari kaeshi tsuki

4.    Uchi:  Hidari maki otoshi barai followed by hidari choku tsuki
Uke: Hidari jodan gaeshi

5.    Uke: Migi Uchikomi
Uchi:  Migi jodan uchikomi barai

6.    Uchi: Hidari jodan uchikomi
Uke: Hidari jodan (renzoku) uchikomi

9-11

9.    Uke: Hidari ushiro barai
Uchi: Steps back to make hidari jodan no kamae

10.    Uchi: Migi uchikomi
Uke: Hidari age uchi

11.    Uke: Hidari (renzoku) uchikomi

13-22

13.    Uke: Hidari choku tsuki
Uchi: Hidari choku barai

14.    Uchi: Hidari choku tsuki
Uke: Hidari jodan gaeshi

15.+16.    Uke: Migi uchikomi…16. migi gedan gaeshi no kamae
Uchi:  (16) Migi jodan uchikomi barai

17.    Uke: Hidari gedan gaeshi
Uchi: Change to a left hand forward grip on jo makes hidari gedan dome barai

18.    Uchi: Hidari gedan choku tsuki
Uke: Hidari chudan gaeshi

19.    Uke: Hidari gedan choku tsuki
Uchi: Hidari gedan dome barai

20.+21    Uke: Migi jodan gaeshi gedan uchikomi (kneeling)…21. Migi gedan gaeshi no kamae
Uchi: (20) Hidari jodan gaeshi to migi gedan dome barai…(20) Migi jodan uchikomi

Notes:  Here we see that in the partner practice, 15 and 16 become one movement, as does 20 and 21.  Uchi basically unleashes a violent application of Roku no jo twice in rapid succession.  There are clips on Youtube showing Morihiro Saito Sensei, Hitohiro Sensei, and Daniel Toutain Sensei showing this in the solo practice.  This is literally uchi just beaten mercilessly with a jo, with little opportunity of awase.  I have a theory about this, that will be the subject of my next writing.

22.    Uchi: Migi jodan uchikomi
Uke: Interrupts uchikomi with hidari gyakute tsuki

22-27

22.    Uke: Hidari gyakute tsuki
Uchi: Evade with Hidari jodan no kamae

23.    Uchi: Hidari gyakute tsuki
Uke: Hidari chudan gaeshi

24.    Uke: Hidari choku tsuki
Uchi: Hidari kaeshi barai

25.+26.    Uke: Hidari choku tsuki…migi gedan gaeshi no kamae
Uchi: Hidari chudan gaeshi

27.    Uchi: Hidari choku tsuki
Uke: Migi gedan gaeshi

27-31

27.    Uke: Migi gedan gaeshi
Uchi: Migi gedan gaeshi barai

28.+29.    Uke: Migi gyakute tsuki…jo is knocked away and allowed to flow to migi tsuki no kamae
Uchi: Parry gyakute tsuki with hasso gaeshi and move to migi hasso no kamae

30.    Uke: Migi choku tsuki
Uchi: Jodan uchikomi barai

31.    Uke: Migi (renzoku) jodan uchikomi

Notes:  In 28 and 29, we see another application of chudan gaeshi.  Instead of being a parry or strike, it is used to allow the jo to flow back to instant use after being knocked away.  Practing the 31 kumijo in these isolated parts is a wonderful exercise for both uke and uchi.

2 Responses to 31 Kumijo, complete description

  1. autrelle says:

    I have read two comments about this so far. The first was regarding the order, 1-3, 4-6, and then 1-6 is more standard. I have already illustrated that in my previous writings, and it is available for download from this blog. I didn’t want to be redundant.
    The other comment was that I include English terms for the Japanese nomenclature. I have already given a description of every term that I used in a recent entry. Anything that was not already previously given a name from the jo basics I made a point to describe with a simple Japanese term, and then I gave my definition of it. Really, uchijo’s movement is just a lot of parrying and warding off motions. I might further simplify my notes with that in mind.

  2. folsomnative says:

    this is amazing! You have a vast knowledge I don’t know anything aoubt the art but I am impressed with your description.
    http://www.folsomnative.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

