WILL THE REAL PETER KEATING PLEASE STAND UP?

http://www.jaxcal.org/interviews/august-bogda-group-show

This is a minor example of what I’m talking about.

Parasites.

I think it’s fine to have a passion for what you do.  You don’t even have to do it well.  The word amateur is a hint.  It doesn’t mean novice, or anything like that.  It means someone that loves what they do.  I suppose that the given opposite idea is expert. Either way, you have someone that likes what they do, and hopefully, they do it well.

Me, I do martial arts.  Whether I am expert or amateur remains to be seen.  I love martial arts.  For me, the biggest draw is the truth in the practice.  Either what you do works, or does not.  No faking.  Faking is weird.  It’s a secret club.  I pretend something and you let me pretend it.  I don’t know why anyone would do this, since it cannot last, by its very nature.  Rand says that when someone fakes reality, it is to gain a value from someone that could not otherwise be gained.  In other words, in reality, the value would be out of reach.  Sad thing is, any value gained falsely really can’t be of use, since it is anything but real.

I used to really, really, be interested in art.  Not the art scene, not artists.  Especially artists.  Artists ruined art for me.  Too much faking.  Too much of people getting away with making shitty art, since apparently it’s rude to tell an artist that their art is shitty.  Most artists won’t agree that there is in fact an objective way to judge art as good or bad.

Then you have the parasites.  The people that don’t have the ability that others have, but they are not content to simply be an informed fan.  They want to be artists.  They want to be martial artists.  They want to be musicians.  The fact is they are not.  The sadder fact is that they do not want to be.  They just want to be known as such.  So, by whatever methods available, they use faking to attain this value.

Now how can this last?

Only if the hosts of these parasites allow it to be so.

Consider hip-hop for example.  Hip hop has several expressions.  Spray paint mural art, deejaying, emceeing, street dancing, what have you.  In these, there has always been healthy competition.  It fosters improvement.  Sometimes, the competition is very unhealthy.  Many rappers, for example, have been killed because of rivalry.  The point is that in hip hop, it is expected that your peers will be openly critical of what it is you do.  You do something wack, you get booed off of a stage, or crossed out on a wall.

The fine art world is too civilized for that.  You can do whatever you want.  Make shitty art.  Copy other people’s ideas.  Steal other peoples actual art.  It’s rather sad.

The link at the top of this post is just a small indicator of what I’m talking about.  You have to be careful, I suppose.

(Edit: This post was inspired by the subject of the link above.  On that link, a great point was made: I don’t have all of the facts.  When the artist responds with more facts on the matter, I will append my new thoughts here.  I didn’t want the artist to feel personally attacked by this post, but, really, how else are they going to feel?  I say that because although I feel this way about parasitic behavior, the artist, having provided such details, may prove to not be guilty of this.  If that is the case, I’ll readily state my apology for using such hasty and uninformed judgement.)

(Edit Number Two:  Well, I have not read or heard about anything that merits an apology.  I didn’t expect to, since those words and actions would involve confession, apology, and redistribution of money received from parasitic behavior.  Ah, such is art.)

4 Responses to WILL THE REAL PETER KEATING PLEASE STAND UP?

  1. Krutika says:

    wow..extending ayn rand’s ideas..?!!

  2. Krutika says:

    hey ur blog title just hit at me n i recalled i was born in the year of tiger..21st Feb86..

  3. autrelle says:

    I have to extend the ideas into concrete examples – I have to. As for me, 1974. Go Tigers!

  4. site says:

    Hey! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could
    find a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one?

    Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

