ANECDOTES FROM A JERK, PART TWO.

The techniques used in this story:

  1. A “variation” of ashiwaza, or leg sweeping
  2. Kaeshiwaza, or counter to someone elses technique
  3. Atemiwaza, or striking
  4. Improvised use of a stun gun

So once again, we’re throwing some people out of the club that I worked at.  There were three people being thrown out, and three of us, doing that.  I caught them trying to sneak in the back door.  So we simply asked them to go around to the front door, to enter properly.  They wanted to argue about it, so we just made them leave, from the back door.  The back entrance was also our employee lot, so if someone got kicked out of the back door, we had to walk the person off of the lot, and onto the street, as policy.  So far, as was going well.  They were yelling and screaming at us, but they were compliant, and walking on their own volition.  Next thing you know, one of the guys decided to fight with my head of security – a really, really big guy with more than a grasp on the Tae Kwon Do he learned while he was in Korea in the military.  So, he hands me his stun gun, and proceeds the round kick the guy into next year.  Well the other two guys didn’t like watching their friend getting kicked into orbit, so they ran over to intervene.  The other bouncer and myself ran over to prevent that.  As I caught up to one of the guys, I kicked him in the back of the leg.  Not in any particular way, but with the intention that since he was running, the kick might make him fall.  Well that worked fine.  He landed on his back, facing upwards.  Even now as I right this, I am realizing that the guy, when I made him fall, he took ukemi!  Ukemi?!!! I know that’s what happened, because when he fell, I reached down with both hands to continue to restrain him.  I didn’t have any sort of idea in mind at all; I just leaned over him with both arms extended.  Imagine my surprise when this guy, after landing on his back, grabbed one of my arms and instantly put me in jujigatame.

Just like the picture shows, except I was not trying to lift the guy to counter it.  I’ll tell you the truth that I was both scared shitless for my arm and impressed by this person’s technique at the same time.  Whoever this guy was, he pulled it off in a flash, like it was nothing.  Luckily, one of my best friends and Jiu Jitsu practitioner, Laran Phelps, was working with earlier that very week on counters to this.  I knew the position, and I was prepared.

I stacked him.  That is, I put my weight on him in such a way that he could not extend his hips or my arm to break it.  The second I was stacked, and my arm was well bent and safe for the moment, I thumbed him the eye.  That’s when he got distracted from his armlock attempt, and I was able to move his legs away from me and get a better position.  Then I punched his face.  After that, I kept hold of one of his legs with my left hand, and reached in my pocket for the stun gun with the other.  I was more than upset that this guy was going to break my arm, so I was ready to dose him.  When I turned it on, and touched it to his leg, the guy screamed in fear.  That’s all that happened.  Apparently, my boss had stunned so many people with it, that the batteries were low.  So the stun gun made that cool looking arc, but it did not make the guy pass out.  It did however, scare the shit out of him.  So I kept him pinned to the ground, not with Aikido or Jiu Jitsu, but by waving a stun gun around his face, and threatening to put it in his mouth.  He was quite cooperative until the police showed up.

What I learned:

  1. These days, everyone and their mama is doing martial arts
  2. Crosstrain – know your positions from other arts
  3. Knowing how to get out of a bad situation will make you confident, in other words, knowledge IS power
  4. Keep it simple – the eye jab was also Bruce Lee’s favorite weapon
  5. Don’t underestimate anyone’s capacity to hurt you in a second
  6. Shock and awe – overwhelming the enemy – negating the armlock, poke to the eye, punch to the face, and stun gun – keep it coming
  7. Did I mention it’s important to crosstrain?
  8. Did I mention it’s important to crosstrain?
One Response to ANECDOTES FROM A JERK, PART TWO.

  1. Ziggy says:

    very interesting autrelle, it would have been quite a surprise when the guy countered you from the ground… would have freaked me out, i guess doing aikido has lulled me into a false sense of security by assuming someone who tries to hurt me will be untrained… it is wrong to assume all other people trained in martial arts would not be starting fights but it does happen…

    i think it will pay to keep this lesson in mind, for me especially.

Leave a Reply

