IF YOU WANT THE JO NOTEBOOK

It’s in the Box.net widget located on the sidebar of this blog, and it’s titled “Draft 5.” If you have any trouble downloading it, please email me!

10 Responses to IF YOU WANT THE JO NOTEBOOK

  1. Eric Holcomb says:

    Hey Autrelle!

    Brilliant timing! I am going to Iwama this weekend for a weapons seminar. Your notebook looks as though it should be a great help with the terminology and more.

    Thank you!
    e.

  2. autrelle says:

    Mr. Eric! Although that is the sort of thing that I intended it to be used for, don’t flatter me by saying that is what you’re using it for! Wow! Draft six will include expanded definitions of the Suburi and more detail on the 31-, 13-Jo Kata, Jo Awase, as well as a more unified approach to the terminology.

    Thanks so much!

  3. Eric Holcomb says:

    Hi Autrelle!

    No really, no flattery intended! I really have been concerned about differences in terminology. As silly as it may sound, I really hate being wrong about that sort of thing. After a quick glance through, I only saw one thing that really jumped out at me as being different but I haven’t read too thoroughly yet.

    You list hachinoji and hasso as kamae. Are they the same thing? The reason I ask is that “hachinoji” literally means, “the character hachi”. Also, my understanding of the hasso kamae was that it was named because ones arms form a shape similar to that of the kanji character for eight: 八 . Am I lost?

    What sort of feedback do you want regarding the draft itself? I noticed a couple of typos.

    I look forward to reading draft 6 and especially seeing more pictures!

    Take care and thank you again!

    e.

  4. Eric Holcomb says:

    Oh yeah! When can I hope to purchase a bound and autographed copy?

    🙂
    e.

    • autrelle says:

      A LOT of that stuff gets committed to draft at the wee hours of the night, so, there are bound to be some errors. I’ll look at the hasso/hachinoji part and clarify. The trick is to keep a tight rein on it in proper order. There are a few concepts in the beginning that I didn’t properly flesh out that would have saved LOTS of explaining on sections in the end. That will be addressed in Draft 6. As far as a bound copy…you stop with that flattery!

  5. autrelle says:

    Ah, found it – Under the “Even More Suburi” section, I list a few more possible exercises that are arranged by Kamae. Hachinoji is not the Kamae, but the exercise. Think “Tsuki Gedan Gaeshi” but instead of the low sweep, after you move the jo to the rear, you would strike with Hachinoji Gaeshi. Bear in mind that is not kihon practice. 🙂

  6. autrelle says:

    And, Hasso no Kamae and Hachinoji Gaeshi are different. I will post some pictures this week if you can’t find the images or video elsewhere.

  7. Eric Holcomb says:

    Just got back from the seminar. OK, Got it. Rather I don’t get it but I got the difference anyway. Whew! Whirlwind practice and I REALLY don’t know Iwama favored Aikido at all! I’ll write about it soon.

  8. Pingback: Weapons Work in Iwama « Little House In Ise

  9. autrelle says:

    Iwama style can definitely be another world, depending on the instructor. It sounds like you have a blast though! I should have something REALLY nice for by end of the week. ‘Nuff said!

Leave a Reply

